Ian Watson

Ian Watson

Financial Planner

I have spent many years in financial services, 16 of them at Bank of Scotland.

In 2014 I made the life changing decision to set up my own practice providing independent financial advice and a bespoke, personalised service, to my clients.

Living in Duns, and working from my office in Berwick-upon-Tweed, I now provide Independent Financial Advice in Northumberland and the Borders to a growing number of clients.

Primarily, I work with people who are 40 and above, typically 20 – 30 years either side of retirement. I enjoy forming long-term relationships with my clients, to help them meet their financial goals, whatever they may be.

I recognise that each and every one of my clients require bespoke financial advice, and that’s exactly what get from me.


In the office

Every investment adviser in the UK is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA). That means they appear on The Financial Services Register.

The links below depart from the regulatory site of Watson Financial Planning. Neither Watson Financial Planning nor Intrinsic is responsible for the accuracy of the information contacted within the linked sites.

You can view my page on the register by clicking here.

Beware of taking financial advice from anyone who doesn’t appear on the register.

Furthermore, every adviser must also hold a valid Statement of Professional Standing (SPS) which demonstrates they are suitably qualified and have completed the required amount of work each year to keep their knowledge up to date. You can view my SPS by clicking here.

Out the office

I was born in Coldstream and now live in Duns with my wife, Jayne and our two children, Beau and Louis.

Work and family life tend to keep me very busy, but over the past two years I’ve also managed to indulge my passion for football (I’m a frustrated and frustrating centre-forward!) by playing charity football matches for Football Aid. So far I have been lucky enough to play at Goodison Park, The Stadium of Light, The Etihad, Tynecastle and St James’ Park.

I also play for Duns Amateurs FC and I am am proud to be one of their main sponsors.

Living in Duns, with the Jim Clark museum on my doorstep, means I can also indulge, when time allows, my passion for cars.

Get to know Ian

Spring, Summer, Autumn or winter? “I love all the seasons but Summer is my favourite.”

Night in or night out? “Night in, ideally with a good movie too!”

Chinese or Indian? “Indian food is a favourite of mine.”

Staycation or holiday abroad? “Holiday abroad, for me there’s nothing like relaxing overseas to refresh the mind and spend quality time with my family.”

Full English or Continental? “Neither, to be honest, I’d rather go for a full Scottish breakfast as a treat with the works, including haggis and tattie scone.”

Red or white? “I am partial to a fruit cider in a glass with ice if that counts?”